Russia Responds to Ukraine Sanctions with Ban on Certain Food Imports from the EU, USA, Canada, Australia and Norway

August 15, 2014

On August 7, 2014, the Russian government imposed a one-year prohibition on import of certain foodstuffs from the following countries that have imposed economic sanctions on Russian entities and(or) individuals: all European Union countries, the United States, Canada, Australia and Norway. The prohibition came into force on the same day with immediate effect for all items not yet imported into Russia. This memo identifies prohibited foodstuffs and provides further detail on these developments.